Kyren Wilson beat Jak Jones in the final

Sam Hayes.jfif
Sam Hayes
Winning at the Crucible is the hardest thing to do in snooker and Kyren Wilson has managed it.

Kyren Wilson was crowned the 2024 World Snooker champion

News Insights

  • Englishman Kyren Wilson is the 2024 World Snooker Champion.
  • Wilson overcame Jak Jones 18-14 in an epic final.
  • In winning the tournament, Wilson clinched the £500,000 prize money.
  • He climbs to world number 3 as a result of his Crucible triumph.

The World Snooker Championship remains the biggest tournament on the global calendar, with audiences from all over the world locked in to the action at the Crucible. 
Kyren Wilson emerged from the doldrums to be crowned the 2024 champion, a result that wasn’t predicted by too many snooker punters or international betting sites

When it comes to snooker folklore, winning the World Snooker Championship at the Crucible Theatre in Sheffield holds a completely different level of gravitas. 
With the very best players on the planet doing battle, over the longest format of the game, it is seen as the ultimate test of every snooker player on the planet and the winning alumni remains the who’s who of the sport. 
Kyren Wilson has always been a prodigious talent and finally the man from Kettering was able to deliver on the biggest stage of all, becoming the champion of the world in the process. 
Wonderful Wilson 

The outpouring of emotion from Kyren Wilson once he finally got over the line against Jak Jones was representative of the struggles, he has been through within the game of snooker. 
Having had to graft hard to earn his tour card a decade ago, Kyren Wilson has become one of the most consistent players on the planet over the past few years and his stylish approach to the game has won him plenty of fans. 
Having failed to trouble Ronnie O’Sullivan in the 2020 World Championship final, Wilson made amends for it in 2024 and deservedly became world champion for the first time. 
Big names falter 

Whilst Kyren Wilson has been a big name in the world of snooker for a few years, plenty of his peers were much more fancied for glory at the Crucible this year with many snooker betting sites
Ronnie O’Sullivan has been battling plenty of demons away from the baize and he came up short against Stuart Bingham in the last 8 here, whilst defending champion Luca Brecel and Mark Selby were sent packing in the first round. 
Elsewhere, the likes of John Higgins and Mark Allen were expected to challenge hard for the world title in 2024 but both men ultimately came up short.  
Keeping up with the Jones 

Whilst he came up short in the final against a rampant Kyren Wilson, Jax Jones has asserted himself on the world snooker fraternity and he is a name to keep an eye on moving forwards for all snooker betting sites.  
Having never won a game at the Crucible before, Jax Jones came to the party in a big way in 2024, with the Welshman delivering on all of the promise he showed as a youngster. 
Wins over the likes of Judd Trump and Stuart Bingham showed a depth to Jones’s game that hadn’t been seen before and he looks ready to challenge the snookering world moving forwards. 

The world snooker championship in Sheffield is the highlight of the snookering calendar and Kyren Wilson is the latest player to etch his name into snookering history. 
Having overcome Jak Jones in an epic final, both men will be out to kick on through 2024 and beyond and continue to challenge the established order within the game of snooker.